Anger

You have probably heard of Dale Carnegie’s book,  How to Win Friends & Influence People.  If you have not read it, you are leaving money on the table.  Your career and interpersonal relationships can be dramatically improved by practicing the  principals described in this book.

Have I employed Carnegie’s principals in the blog entries I have written so far?  I don’t think so.  But I think I know why.

Here is an excerpt from the Wikipedia entry on Carnegie:

…he returned to New York, unemployed, nearly broke, and living at the YMCA on 125th Street. It was there that he got the idea to teach public speaking, and he persuaded the “Y” manager to allow him to instruct a class in return for 80% of the net proceeds. In his first session, he had run out of material; improvising, he suggested that students speak about “something that made them angry”, and discovered that the technique made speakers unafraid to address a public audience.

Anger seems to motivate people to do things they would ordinarily avoid.  It works for me!  I am far more motivated to write about subjects that make me angry than anything else.  Anger cures writer’s block.  And that is probably why you see so many angry posts from me in this blog.

I doubt that these are my most persuasive posts though.  The list of efficacious techniques for influencing people in Carnegie’s book do not include “be sarcastic” or “let them know how angry you feel” or “belittle other people’s beloved political heroes.”

This entry was posted in Improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

